A Legacy Worth Leaving

Standard

Sometimes I’m astonished at where my sub-conscience spaghetti brain will take me. It leaves me in awe of the intricate design of my Lord and His faithfulness to provide divine inspiration. I was trying to come up with something profound to say for this blog and was lacking of any ideas. This leads me to believe that I shouldn’t try to force ideas, as this one seemed to have found me with no problem….at 5:30 this morning. It’s a good thing I’m a morning person!

Grandmas ring

It all started with a ring; this ring actually. ^ As I’ve been slowly in the process of moving my belongings up here, I stumbled upon a jewelry box that got hidden away on a shelf. Inside was this ring that my grandmother had given me. I’m not one for gold or pearls, but this ring had somehow captured my attention, and I’ve been wearing it ever since; I’ve even grown quite fond of it.

I then proceeded to find two books I forgot I had, titled: O Jerusalem! by Larry Collins and Dominique LaPierre, as well as, A Mother’s Legacy by Barbara Rainey and Ashley Rainey Escue. The latter of the two tells tales of various women, whose mothers feared the Lord, and the memories and lessons learned that have stuck with them through adult-hood. Now, I am not a mother, but this book has been surprisingly fun and profound to read. I am not only learning to examine the relationship with my own mother, both past and present, but I am also learning to cultivate some of these characteristics now. It’s been a huge blessing.

And now to reveal my inner nerd! O Jerusalem- a book (a very thick book) that centers around the great controversy of 1948 concerning Jerusalem and Palestine. The British had just removed their 30 year presence from Israel, and now the United Nations were on the edge of their seats trying to decide how much land to give each. But the most looming question of all: Who would get Jerusalem? (see I’m trying to make it sound interesting!)

Now, you may be wondering how all of these things tie together, but let me assure you, they do.

Let’s venture back to my grandmothers ring. To be honest, it’s not something that I would have boughten if I had seen it in a store a few months ago. At the time, I wasn’t sure why I was bringing it home with me, but I just felt I should. This morning, I understood why. This ring was important to my grandmother. She didn’t wear it anymore, but she had kept it to give to me. I’ve learned to love it, not because it’s gold and has a pearl, but rather because I understand the privilege of tradition; the privilege of inheritance.

A Mother’s Legacy- a collection of daughters telling what they remember, admire, and cherish about their mothers. Each one at the end of her story, stating that she hopes to do the same for her children.

O Jerusalem! – Tradition is rooted out of love, heritage, and culture. Rituals are rooted out of religion and a sense of duty. This book discretely displays the depth of Jewish tradition. Reading, memorizing, copying the Torah. The verbal passing down of Scripture, the feasts, the celebration, the anguish and struggle of always being outside of Jerusalem. A real life display of The Great Shema, found in Deuteronomy 6.

I’m also currently going through Psalm 119, and the theme of all 176 verses is the love of the law of the Lord, and how he can’t get enough of it, he meditates on it constantly, it is displayed in his life, it is always on his lips.

I hope you’ve begun to see the common threads of inheritance, tradition, and legacy. My heart has been overwhelmed by the importance of this lesson to be learned; this characteristic to develop. Not only to think of the future legacy I want to leave for my children (Lord willing I have them), but also the legacy I am leaving in the here and now, as everywhere I go, I leave one.

I want my life to resonate The Great Shema of Deuteronomy 6 – the love of the Lord and His Word being completely intertwined with EVERY part of my life – from my sleeping to my rising, my sitting to standing, from my smile to my words, from the presence I radiate. I want to echo the authors heart of Psalm 119 – where nothing is sweeter to me than the life-giving Word of God.

I may not have children of my own right now, but I do teach an AWANA class. I have been burdened as to the importance of the legacy that I am currently creating for them to remember me by. I want them to remember me as someone who was excited and enthusiastic about the Word of God. Someone who took the time to really listen to what was going on in their hearts. Someone who wasn’t too caught up in following a lesson plan, but rather was more concerned about the soul. I want to inspire them to fall in love with Jesus. I want my love for Jesus and His Word to become contagious for them. I want them to see that reading of the Word, prayer, and living a Gospel centered life is supposed to be tradition, not ritual. I want them to understand the privilege of tradition; the privilege of the inheritance we have through Jesus.

All this to be said: I understand that these are my desires, the burdens of my heart, but the only way that I will have a legacy worth leaving is if I get out of the way and let Jesus shine forth. I will continue to let HIM cultivate a gentle and quiet spirit, a passion for HIS TRUTH, a burden for those in need.

The only tradition, the only legacy worth leaving is Jesus.

One response »

Leave a Reply

