Chivalry Is Not Dead

Standard

I had one of those days that you don’t ever want to experience again. I was on the verge of tears almost constantly, and for the life of me didn’t know why. I had unrest in my soul to extremes that I hadn’t felt in a very long time. Before dinner tonight I took a walk down to the barn to feed and to try and clear my head. The walk didn’t do what I had intended it to do, but it proved to be a way for God to show His love more intimately than I could  have ever imagined. I was about halfway back to main camp when a vehicle pulled up behind me. The gentleman had his window rolled down and simply asked if I’d like a ride. I pondered for a moment, and gratefully accepted his offer. We made small talk to on the very short remainder of the journey. He asked me where I would like to be dropped off, and instead of saying “where ever is most convenient” or “it doesn’t matter”, I said “the dining hall area would be great”- and he obliged without complaint or any reference to it being out of his way. I stepped out of his jeep, walked in the back door of the dining hall, started my work, and let myself dwell on that simple, but profound, act of kindness. He picked me up and gave me a ride when I needed it most, even though I was capable of walking the rest of the way. I allowed myself to be “carried”. It was almost as if God was physically showing me what He wanted to do with my heart- pick it up and carry it to it’s ultimate destination- the refuge of His arms. I am overwhelmed by His faithfulness to show Himself at exactly the right moment. We serve a good, good God.

So, kind sir, (I realize now that I never did ask your name) wherever you are- thank you.

Leave a Reply

