Sweet Potatoes and Declarations of Love

Standard

I know, I know. The title of this post is a little (ok, a lot) out there, but just trust me. They go together like peas in a pod.

I found this amazing recipe for a “stir-fry”, and of course, didn’t follow the recipe at all. I ended up using a medium sweet potato, pablano pepper, red pepper, pearl onions, some leftover mushrooms, sweet peas, and a clove of garlic. For spices, I used some cumin, salt, and lemon-pepper. The flavors mingled so well together, I am thoroughly pleased with how it turned out. But boy, oh boy, let me tell ya, sweet potatoes are ridiculously hard to chop. I swear, it took more mustering and determination to cut the whole potato than anything else I had to do that day.

So, really, the whole “stir-fry” plays an important role in the deep life lesson I learned that night. See, if I hadn’t chose to make it, I wouldn’t have been in the house alone.  I wouldn’t have let my thoughts wander. I wouldn’t have had quality time with Jesus.

Earlier this week, I had several conversations pertaining to the end times. They were all positive conversations with great anticipation and excitement for things to come. Whenever  I think about the throne room, and imagine every tongue, tribe, and nation singing infinite praises to the Lord, I get a peaceful smile upon my face. However, these conversations have caused me to realize how selfish I am. I deeply desire to be a wife, a mother, and to live a quiet but Gospel driven life. There is nothing wrong with desiring these things, but when I begin to wish that God would wait to come, when I hope that I have just a little bit more time to get my “bucket list” done, I am no longer striving to please God. These Godly desires can so quickly become idols, of which I am painfully finding out.

We all have a desire to have that one person in our lives that we can look in their eyes and declare in wholehearted truth, “I love you”.  To have that person who knows you intimately, and you know them intimately, but yet you still have a deep and great love for each other. This desire has grown and grown within me, but I find myself at a crossroads. I may never get the chance to have that opportunity while here on earth. Will I be ok with that? Only Jesus can satisfy me, but will I choose to let Him? This truth the Lord revealed to me: I may not be able to declare my love to another human while on earth, but I can declare with my lips, with my life, my love for Him. So there I was, chopping a sweet potato, declaring my love for the only one who will ever satisfy my soul. It was one of the sweetest moments I’ve experienced. I gave my love to the one who knows me fully, and the one that I will someday fully know.

But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing we will be content with that. 1 Timothy 6:6&7

Leave a Reply

