It’s Not A Laundry Vent…

Standard

I’ll let you in on a little secret: My favorite smell in the whole entire world is laundry… clean laundry. I love the way laundry detergent smells, the way the house smells when doing laundry, and I especially love smelling laundry that wafts in the air from others people’s homes when I’m out for a walk or run. Now, that may sound obsessive, but I assure you it’s not. It’s just one of those things that when I smell it, it makes me smile. It’s reminds me of wildflowers, and spring fields, birds singing and laughter. It puts me in a very happy place.

With that being said I’d like to tell you a little story. About two weeks ago I was going for a run on Centennial Trail. It was a glorious day, the sun was shining brightly and was warm on my skin. I was going past one of the hotels that line the riverfront and noticed steam coming from the side of the building. I won’t lie, I got a little excited when I saw it and assumed it was a laundry vent. A smile came to my face and I said a little thanks to God for having a little “pick me up” on my run. As I approached the steam I made sure to expel all the air in my lungs so I could get as much laundry smell in my lungs as possible. Without thinking, I took in the biggest breath I could muster, and much to my disappointment, I didn’t inhale laundry smell. No, what I encountered was far worse. I seemed to have stumbled upon the pool vent, not the laundry vent. My lungs were filled with chlorine air, and off I went into a coughing fit. I’m sure I provided great amusement for those around me (you’re welcome) and once I recovered I couldn’t help but laugh at myself, take a big breath of non-chlorinated air, and keep on moving.

Lesson learned: Just because it looks like a laundry vent, doesn’t mean it is.

Leave a Reply

