Darrell

Standard

A week of transition; of change. New places, new faces, but still the same God.

He’s been really teaching me a lot about His heart, and His agenda vs my agenda.
For example. I believe it was Friday morning, I had the privilege of meeting a man named Darrell. I went for a run on centennial trail. Towards the end, I noticed a man sitting on a bench, looking very somber. I continued past him, but with each step I took farther away, the more burdened my heart became. I knew I needed to talk with him. I turned myself around, headed back the way I came, and sat ‘next’ to the man. I wasn’t sure what to expect. We made small talk, and I learned that he is from Gainesville, FL. He’s here because his wife took his kids. His heart for his children, and his love for his wife blew me away. He’s sleeping in the streets of Spokane, just so he can maybe reconcile his relationship with his children.

That day I got a clearer view at the heart of Jesus. I caught a glimpse of God’s heart for the poor and needy, the orphans and widows, the homeless and drug addicted. These are the people that Jesus called His friends. Darrell has feelings, hopes, dreams, goals; He’s just like you and I. He showed me the pictures of his children that he keeps in his wallet, the bread he bought so he could feed the birds. There may or may not be any truth to his story, but who am I to say I’ve never told a lie? He may have been intoxicated, but does that mean I should pass him by or love him less? Why is it so easy to overlook those who don’t fit into our view of a ‘normal person’? I’ve learned that pretty people can be ugly, and that the outcasts of this world can shed a beautiful light like I’ve never seen before. Take the time to love on someone that no one else will. You’ll be glad you did.

I chose to lose my agenda and follow his, and was blessed beyond measure for my obedience. It makes me desire to be even more ministry focused, to keep my heart open to His agenda ALL day. To have a listening heart. To be obedient.

Jesus, let my love for you over-ride my selfishness. Let me bless others out of the overflow. Open my eyes to needs around me. Give me a fearless spirit. One that does not worry about what others will think if I talk to ‘this person’, one that will know that the center of your will is the safest place for me to be. That you are the everlasting arms beneath me, I have nothing to fear. Remind me that following you, and only you, is the only thing worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

