Inconvienient Blessings

Standard

Romans 9:20-23 “But who are you, O man, to talk back to God? Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?’ Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purposes and some for common use? What if God, choosing to show his wrath and make His power known, bore with great patience the objects of His wrath- prepared for destruction? What if He did this to make the riches of His glory known to the objects of His mercy, whom He prepared in advance for glory.”

Today, I was convicted of my self centeredness. I’m so busy the next few days before I leave, that I have hardly any time to finish packing and clean. I’ve also been easily irritated. So, when there is any slight inconvenience or change of plans, I have not handled myself as well as I would have liked.

I was driving home from Manitowoc this morning, and God really spoke to me, convicting my heart, and opening my eyes. My life is not my own. Each day is not my own. Every minute of every hour is not my own. I was created by God, not myself. What right do I have to claim life as mine? Who am I to tell God that I don’t want to talk to that lady in the grocery store, I don’t want to run to the store for my mom, I don’t want to go to this last minute meeting, I don’t want __________. I chose to let the world revolve around me.

Things that I view as inconvenient, have the potential to be divine appointments. I could have the potential to lift someone up when they need it most, or they could encourage me. I get so focused on me and my little bubble that I sometimes miss out on all of these opportunities that God is placing right before me.

I remember in Genesis 12, when God is telling Abram to leave, He says “I will make you into a great nation, I will bless you; I will make your name great, you will be a blessing.” My role in life is to show the love of Jesus, and to be a blessing. I truly believe that God blesses you when you walk in obedience and love with Him; When you take advantage of the doors He opens for you, no matter how inconvenient they may seem. But sometimes I get so focused on God blessing me, that I forget to look for those open doors to bless others. Sometimes, I think i’m doing good with staying in God’s will for my life, and completely lose my ministry mindset.

When Paul says “But who are you, O man, to talk back to God? Shall what is formed say to Him who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?'”, I am so humbled. How many times God, have I disliked the way I looked, or been unpleased with the way a particular day went. How many times have I been ungrateful for another day on this earth. How many times have I had the wrong attitude about having to change my plans so I could accomplish His? I believe it was Char who told me, that when we are ungrateful or unhappy with who we are, or inconvenient things in our day, it’s like slapping God in the face. I for one know that I am guilty of slapping God in the face. Who am I to say that today should look ‘like this’? Who am I to have any say in what my life looks like?

But you God, out of your great mercy, have blessed me with an opportunity to be a part of your plan. You knew each of my days before I was formed, how can I say that they aren’t good enough? You abound in patience, and understand my human nature of self centeredness, but you deeply desire for me to remember that Your plans are so much better than mine. For your thoughts are not my thoughts, neither are Your ways my ways. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are Your ways higher than mine, and Your thoughts over my thoughts. As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower, and bread for the eater, so is Your word that goes from Your mouth; It will not return to You empty, but will accomplish what You desire, and achieve the purpose for which You sent it. (Isaiah 55:8-11).

God, give me a spirit that is humble, striving to please You and only You. Give me a heart for Your will for my life, each day, every minute. Convict me when I get lost in my own little world. Remind me why You have sent me. Grant me the passion to pursue Your will over my own. Forgive me for being self-centered and prideful. Forgive me for thinking that my agenda is more important than yours. You are sovereign over all, You are a big God, Who am I to think that I can handle my days better than You? Give me eyes to see you in everything around me, and throughout my day. Give me ears to hear, a heart that  listens to your promptings.

Help me to see beauty in the ‘inconveniences’. Help me to strive to be a blessing.

Leave a Reply

