Making Lemonade

Standard

Water. Two hydrogen, one oxygen. Pure, flavorless sustenance. The human body is designed to need water. On a hot summer day, you will more than likely crave a cool drink of water. Plain old water is enough. Or is it?

I walk down the aisle of the gas station or grocery store and see tons of drink mixes, juice, soda etc etc. There are things to add to your water, and things that are simply not water at all. (Now please do not get me wrong here, I am not saying that drinking any of these things are bad or wrong, this is strictly for an analogy purpose.) There are so many choices. I could pick a lemonade drink mix for my water bottle one day, then drink some vitamin water the next, then maybe some Gatorade, then juice, then who know’s what the day after. Pretty soon, plain water has become pretty dull to the senses. You forget just how good it tastes. You could even end up dehydrated.

I think as Christians, we too often find ourselves sucking down the drink mixes and soda pop of Christian icons instead of thirsting after the word of God. I think we too often, when facing a problem, run to the newest ‘self-help’ book or the like, written by a Christian author. (again, please don’t misunderstand me, I truly see no problem in reading books like those or listening to different preachers or anything of the sort, my problem comes in, when we seek these more than the word of God itself). Pretty soon we’ve forgotten what water tastes like. There’s a reason the bible seems so dull to us! It’s because we’re constantly adding things to it! If only we would let ourselves be reminded of how awesome and wonderful the word of God tastes! There’s a bunch of Christians on the verge of dehydration, solely because they’ve forgotten that the word of God, and only the word of God will provide true sustenance.

How do we get to the point where we find ourselves unsatisfied with the water? Well, to make an analogy of it, I’ll reference someone making lemonade. You make it as the recipe calls, and sweeten to taste. Now, when you sweeten to taste, you don’t normally dump in another whole cup of sugar. You usually start out with a spoonful. Then slowly you add another, and maybe another. The problem comes in, where if you don’t drink a sip of water in between each taste, you don’t have a good idea of how sweet the next sip will be. Pretty soon you’ve added way more sweetner than needed.

I reference this because I think that it’s vitally important to remember to first drink from the word of God before adding any ‘sweetner’. Always have that reference point to fall back on. Don’t let yourself get so caught up in adding to God’s word that you hinder it’s power. We humans cannot make the word of God greater.

I write about this because I have been there, not because I want to point the finger. I write about this because I’ve noticed the wonderful beautiful change in my heart after I started putting God’s word first and my books and podcasts second. I write about this because I want others to remember that God’s word is first and foremost, the only drink that will quench your thirst and renew your spirit.

John 4:13-14 “Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks of the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Let the word of God be your water, let Jesus be your water. You will find yourself fulfilled and satisfied. Your thirst quenched and your spirit full.

Drink from the word of God that overflows for you, stop searching for second-hand substitutes.

Leave a Reply

