For Such A Time As This

Standard

“I long to make your life a glorious adventure…”

Esther 4:14 “For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place….And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this.”

1 Chronicles 28:20 “Be strong and courageous and do the work. Do not be afraid or discouraged (by the size of the task), for the Lord God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you until all the work for the service of the temple of the Lord is finished.”

When you’re wide awake at 1 am, you tend to do a lot of pondering….well I ponder a lot anyways, but at 1 am I do more than usual. Spent some quality time ‘at’ IHOP, and let my spirit be refreshed. I keep thinking about all the changes that are on the horizon. I leave for Spokane August 2nd. We just refocused and expanded our healthy relationships group, and are quickly moving forward to attempt non-profit status. I’m still waiting on the Lord to show me how to bring this ministry with me. I’m halfway through the process of becoming a part of the volunteer network for Mission of Mercy. There’s a lot on my plate, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I was reading through Esther the other day, and 4:14 stuck out to me. If I chose to remain silent, to ignore the call on my heart, God would have used someone else. He doesn’t need my help, He doesn’t need to use me, but He wants to. The God of the universe wants to use me, to make my life a glorious adventure. Just thinking about that blows me away and renders me speechless. Once again I am in awe of my God.

To think that each of us were born into the families we were born into, the year we were born, the city we were born, the country we were born in all for His purpose. Where we’re living, going to school, going to work is all for His purpose. No matter how mundane life feels, there’s a reason. If you are in Christ there is not one day that does not have purpose. Now that’s an imposing thought, as I know that I do not live each day as though it has purpose, to its full potential. But I refuse to let my failure let me grow complacent and comfortable.

I’ve found that the more I follow, the more I pursue, the more opposition I face. Most of the opposition I face is silent opposition. For example, my extended family (most at least) could not fathom my desire to go to Africa. They just didn’t get it. Although they love me, to not have their faces show excitement or interest was disheartening. But I went, I listened to Him, and was blessed beyond measure for my obedience.

People will fail me, be uninterested in my faith journey, and will sometimes make me  question what on earth I am doing. But God will not. I cling to 1 Chronicles 28:20. I cling to the whole first chapter of Joshua, where 6 times it says “Be strong and courageous”. If we truly believed those verses, imagine what we would do for God. If took them to heart, and chose to be fearless for God, imagine what your life would look like!

For some that’s a scary thought though. God asking them to go places and do things that are so far out of their comfort zone. They are fine where they are, but yet secretly they desire so much more. I think this desire for purpose, and adventure lies in all of us.

Life preservers come to mind. Before we come to know Christ as our Savior, we are all drowning (although we don’t know it) in this ocean of sin. Jesus comes in, throws us a life preserver, we are saved. For some that is as far as it goes. Unfortunatly, life preservers are supposed to be temporary. They are stuck in this phase of half-living for God and half-drowning trying to preserve their old life. I guess if I had to paint a picture of a life preserver Christian, it would be one who goes to church on Sunday, and leaves God there when they leave. One who goes through the motions. Who outwardly has it all together, but inside is destitute in heart, poor in spirit. They are not enjoying the wonderful Spirit filled life.

Sometimes I find myself in a life preserver, but the more I pursue this call on my heart, the less appealing it is to me. I pray that we all can get to a point in our lives where God’s intended purpose for us is more enticing than ours.

Throw off the life preserver and walk on the water, for you were created for such a time as this

Leave a Reply

